Have a Beer (Before You Die)

All About Beer has created a list called “125 Places to Have a Beer Before You Die,” and I was thrilled to see that Selin’s Grove Brewing Company made the list. 

I was initially disappointed at their placement of #45, but in reading the associated article, I don’t see anything stating this is a ranked list (as in, you are better off having a beer at the seats on top of the Green Monster in Fenway Park in Boston at #16 than you are having one at Cantillon Brewery and Gueuze Museum in Belgium at #90.)  With that in mind, I find the list to be much more palatable.

I know that All About Beer won’t keep this article on the forefront of their website, so I’m copying the text here for posterity.  I think it’s important that the list be read with an understanding of how it was created and why.

The Growler List: 125 Places to Have a Beer Before You Die
By Rick Lyke

Beer drinkers are particular not only about what they drink, but also where they drink. We all have our favorite places to enjoy a cold one. Some are laid back and relaxing. Others are loud and rollicking. Because beer is such a social beverage, our favorite places to sip a brew are often where our friends gather, or a pub where you can make new friends almost from the minute you arrive.

All About Beer has been chronicling great watering holes for nearly three decades. In the process our writers have come up with a few favorite places of their own. The following list is an attempt to bring together the 125 best places in the world to have a beer. The Growler List, if you will. With any list of this sort, we fully expect it will cause some debate and even a few arguments. More art than science went into constructing this list, but we can assure you that having a beer at any location on this list is a special experience.

We hope your favorite place is on the list. If its not, let us hear about it. After all, we are always in search of the next great place to have a pint.

This week, I’m heading to Mondial de la Bière in Montreal (Quebec), which is on the list at #17.  While I’m sure I’ll have a great time, I can bet money I’d rather be drinking my beer at Baumgartner’s Cheese Store & Tavern in Monroe, WI on the list at #88.  If for no other reason, there aren’t crowds of people there, and I speak the language.

Leave a Reply

