Bavarian Barbarian – Really?!?

Perhaps one day the shape of our “golden triangle of beer” will change.   Relative to the population, there are so many places popping up in the area!  Are they worthy of a side trip?  Here are a few to keep an eye on.

I just haven’t made it to the Abbey Wright in Duboistown, because every time I’m in Williamsport, I just gravitate to the Bullfrog!  I’ve heard both good and bad reports, but I’d like to make the call on my own.  I just can’t get myself to that side of the river… 

We heard on good authority that Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks in Millheim is open for food (no brewery licence as of yet.)  We learned about it Tuesday, and Lew Bryson blogged about it on Wednesday in much greater detail; you can also read all about the restaurant and the talented brewer in Ken Hull’s new book, Going Local.  We’re really hopeful this place will work out well.  With Tim Yarrington as the brewer, after his award-winning successes at Long Valley Pub & Brewery, and evidence of his appreciation for cask beers, I think it will do very well.

Tonight I’ve been reading a bit about Bavarian Barbarian Brewing Company, a startup brewery in Williamsport, which I’ve heard rumblings about for the last few months and have been so curious to learn more.  A billboard went up in late November, and now there is even better news.

On Friday, Mike Hiller (Barbarian Chief) announced that he just completed brewing his first batch, although he didn’t tell us what it is.  Rumor is that the location is the old Wahl-Braun building (the listed address is 429 W 3rd St and phone number is 570-322-5050), although I had heard differently two weeks ago when we were in town.  It sounds like his focus will be selling to area restaurants and bars – no bottling.  He’s sporting the merch already – check out the logo hat and T!

                                                          Barbarian Chief Mike Heller

Mike isn’t totally new the the craft.  He got his start at Legend Brewing Company, which has become a regular stop for us when we travel south on I-95 (sorry, Legend…for the first time in five years, we’re not going to Charleston for Christmas!) 

It looks like Mike tried to start Bavarian Barbarian while living in Massachusetts (listed address is 762 Commonwealth Ave #5, Brighton MA), but I’m glad it’s happening in Williamsport instead and I can’t wait to see what comes out of there!

One response

  1. Howdy,
    My name is Mike Hiller and I’m the founder and Barbarian Chief of Bavarian Barbarian Brewing Company of Williamsport, PA. Let me answer some questions for y’all. We are in what started out as Russ Smith Ford back in the 1970s. More recently, it was the Williamsport Food Bank. We are located at 429 W. Third St. at the back of the building behind Mom’s Diner and Golden Dragon Karate Studio. It’s true that I started working on the brewery project while living in Boston, but my intention all along was to begin here in Williamsport. How the hell did you find my old address? That’s a little creepy. Anyway, we will focus on selling kegs to bars/restaurants in the area without any bottling. Eventually, we’ll be canning our beers because cans make a much better package than bottles and it suits the outdoorsy nature of Central Pennsylvania. Legend Brewing Company, I think, has some of the best brewers in America and they are still good friends. We’re already thinking of hosting them for a guest-brewer spot here at the Barbarian.
    Thank you for your interest in our brewery. Our first two beers are Hammerin’ Ale and Headbangerz Brown Ale and will be available as soon as we get our freakin’ licenses. Please call, stop by or visit our website http://www.bavarianbarbarian.com.
    Take it easy,
    Mike

Leave a Reply

