Blogging from John’s House

Okay…okay…I’m a month behind.  I totally missed blogging about Dark Lord Day (but really, do you know how much beer I drank that day?)  So, now (yes, RIGHT now) I’m at John’s fabulous CREF Annual Beer Tasting.

Appropriate beer treats are being served, purchased at the West Shore Farmer’s Market, and including Chimay Cheese, Porter Cheese and Irish Cheddar cheese, and a lovely tray of stuffed peppers, dolmades, feta cheese, crackers….and of course, a wide variety of wonderful beers (as I write, I’m drinking Meantime London Porter!)

Attendees provided an excellent selection of beers including:

  • Millie the Mad Russian Imperial Stout (the last bottle?)
  • Troeg’s Scratch Beer Number One
  • Kolster Athel Curator Doppelbock
  • Goose Island IPA
  • Avery Collaboration
  • Weyerbacher Imperial Pumpkin
  • Xingu
  • Chimay Grand Cruz
  • Victory Whirlwind Wit
  • Allagash Curieux
  • Duck-Rabbit Brown Ale
  • Meantime London Porter
  • Alesmith Wee Heavy
  • Three Floyds Dark Lord Imperial Stout (2007)
  • Bluegrass Brewing Co. Bearded Pat’s Barleywine (bottle #236; March 2000)
  • Attack of the Killer Amarillo (homebrew by Brutal Deluxe Brewing)
  • Stoudt’s  Bourbon-aged Fat Dog Stout
  • Tripel (which I know has a name…) from Brutal Deluxe Brewing (our own label!)

I’ll have to edit this tomorrow (maybe…given my track record, maybe now!) with additional beers we drink, and photos of our time together (and as Steve says, a list of quotes from Deuane!)

For now, I’m going back to the tasting : )

Leave a Reply

