Little Surprises Around Every Corner (but Nothing Dangerous)

The DeCiderTonight I consumed a cider that reminded me of Willy Wonka’s Inventing Room gum that doubled as a three course meal (remember Violet Beauregarde?)

Well, close to it. If you like the sweet / dessert part of meals. Which I do!

After trying a 50/50 blend of Southern Tier Choklat with Pizza Boy Coconut Cream Ale (and I couldn’t stop singing “sometimes you feel like a nut…Almond Joy!”), I was pleased to catch a glass of a new cider from The Vineyard at Hershey. As you may or may not know, it is against the law in PA for a brewery to make a cider, but it is fine to do at a winery, so thank goodness The Vineyard at Hershey / The Brewery at Hershey can pump out all three!

I haven’t had much to say about The Brewery since it opened in March of this year (The Vineyard opened in 2012 and that was totally off my radar), but I also find myself blogging about every seven months, so don’t take my silence as not noticing.

The folks at The Vineyard / The Brewery were integral in starting up Hershey Harrisburg Craft Beer Country – a marketing initiative to promote craft beer and beer education in the area (read more about it at abc27!) and prominent figures in the hosting of the Central Pennsylvania Oktoberfest at Penn National Race Course (can you find me in these photos?) They also hosted a series of summer concerts, labeled the Decked-Out Live Entertainment Series, which we enjoyed on those rare Fridays at home. I can certainly appreciate their enthusiasm and willingness to organize people for education and entertainment.

But here it is autumn…almost winter…and I’m looking for fall treats when this glass gets passed my way. It had about 4 remaining sips of The DeCider - Peanut Butter Caramel Apple Cider.

Strange, but true, this is hard apple cider that starts off apple…then fills in with sweet, yummy caramel…and ends with roasty, rich peanut butter flavor. I’m serious when I say I felt like a three-course meal! What an interesting combination. Their Twitter feed accurately states, “The DeCider leads taste buds in moments of indecision & crisis.” If you like peanut butter as much as I do, you’ll enjoy this cider.

My nephew is still too young to enjoy it with me, but the artwork did lead to a short talk on politics and history (and just a moment of wondering if his parents were sitting in The Hall of Presidents at Magic Kingdom while we ate pizza at home), and an even longer lesson in the differences between wine, beer, cider and distilled beverages.

So he got an education and I got a treat. And a bottle to take home and try again!

If you get a chance, I recommend it. I couldn’t survive on the stuff, but it certainly is an amalgamation of “yummmm” worthy of purchasing and sharing a bottle during this cider season. Keep being inventive, The Vineyard / The Brewery, and I’ll keep tasting the products as you roll them out!

One response

Leave a Reply

